Archive for June 14th, 2011

June 14, 2011

Pinxtos, pink wine, and a happy heart!

Hello!!!

It’s been one doozy of a day! Crazy things were happening at work, and I felt like it went by so fast that I couldn’t breathe. Being at the hospital for 12 straight hours a few days a week really puts life into perspective for me. It makes me love people more, and tell them more often. It makes me want to take care of myself better, enjoy the outdoors, laugh more, see the world, and taste as much I possibly can, while I’m able.

After all the crazy stuff that happened at work I was super relieved to get home and make something delicious. I got home, realized I was locked out. Panicked for second, and found my spare key after calling P three times, and emptying the million receipts and lip glosses from my hand bag.

Walking up my stairs, all I could think about was the beautiful  five liter box of  really good quality Rose that was sent from France, specifically for the good people of my wine shop, and something small, and savory to enjoy with it.

I’m always thinking of ways to use up bits and pieces in my fridge. I knew I had to use the 1/4 head of cauliflower, and Spanish olives from my dinner party last week.

I thought of Pinxtos, or small snacks that pair well with wine. I dreamed of deep fried cauliflower croquettes from Spain. I knew I needed to fry up some cauliflower, but I needed to do it an “healthy way”. I also wanted to use this as a side dish to my normal work night Kale Salad.

This dish needed flavor, crunch, protein, spice, and a little dairy!

It was delicious. It will be a regular around here, it may be part of my lunch tomorrow!

Pan fried cauliflower, with almonds, panko, Spanish olives, and harissa cream!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 head of cauliflower
  • 3 Tbsp Panko Bread Crumbs
  • 1/4 tsp of dried oregano, and basil
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 2 pinches of salt
  • 3 clicks from your pepper mill
  •  2 Tbsp Creme Fraiche
  • 2 tsp harissa paste
  • 1/2 a lemon
  • 6 Spanish green olives
  • 3 Tbsp Marcona Almonds
  • 3 Tbsp Avocado Oil
  • More salt and pepper to taste
  • a few sprinkled of smoked paprika
Steps:
  • Heat oil in small fry pan, add minced garlic.
  • Dip cauliflower in lemon juice, or drizzle lemon juice over cauliflower.
  • Mix dried herbs, panko, salt and pepper together.
  • Add cauliflower to panko, and toss in pan.
  • Toss olives, and marcona almonds to pan.
  • Fry on low heat until panko is crispy, and cauliflower is hot, and slightly soft.
  • Sprinkle with Paprika, salt, and pepper.
Harissa Cream:
  • Mix creme fraiche, 2 Tbsp lemon juice, and harissa paste together! Voila! Easy!
This is the sort of dish that brightens up a tough day. I had a glass of my Rose, which paired nicely with my delicious cauliflower, and now it’s cuddle time with Lu Lu. My heart is happy, and life is beautiful!
xoxo
Sarah