Baby Kale Caesar, and a Salad Challenge!

Hey Guys! Whoah, Spring has totally sprung. I’ve got a tan going on from all of this lovely hot weather here. I can’t believe how gorgeous it has been. I’m totally ready for camping and outdoor season.

Speaking of hot weather. It was too warm to eat dinner last night. That rarely happens for me.

I eat a lot of salads. Most of my recipes happen to be salads, and salad just happens to be my favorite food.

When I was little and we would get fast food as a treat- I would always pick Wendy’s because they had a salad bar. I know, I’m a total dork. It’s just always been my favorite food. You can make a salad as fancy or as simple as you want. It involves little, or no cooking. It’s light, filling, and refreshing all at the same time.

I’m kicking off a salad challenge. Each day I will post a recipe for a different salad a long with my regular posts. I’m starting super simple. In fact, this is for my co-workers who hate prepping salads. You can’t get easier than this. Organic Girl (available at New Season’s and Whole Foods) sells pre-washed, and packaged baby kale already for you to plop into bowls. Simple. Done. Then you make a quick dressing, toast some bread, and grate some cheese. Voila!! Salad, made. Seriously could it be easier than that??

What kind of salads do you like? What do you eat for lunch and dinner that you absolutely can’t live without?? Ummm, that would be salad for me!

Baby Kale Caesar

Ingredients:

  • Organic girl baby kale mix
  •  1 piece crusty day old bread
  • Olive oil 2 tbsp
  • 1 Clove garlic smashed, and chopped
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 2 heaping Tbsp Shredded Parmesan
  • Salt, and pepper to taste
  • More olive oil, dried herbs, crushed red pepper, and salt for croutons

Steps:

  • Plop greens into bowls.
  • Squeeze lemon into bowl with smashed garlic and mustard, and slowly drizzle olive oil, whisk to combine. Salt, and pepper to taste
  • Dress salads with dressing, and let sit for 10 minutes.
  • Tear bread, dress with oil, dried herbs and chiles as desired.
  • Bake bread on 350 until crispy, about 15 minutes.
  • Top salad with bread and cheese, toss to combine.
  • Enjoy!!!

Look for another salad recipe tomorrow!!!

XOXO

Sarah

Leave a Reply

