My favorite- Romesco!

Hello Lovelies!

The other night we ate at Toro Bravo. We enjoyed many little snacks, but we started with a nettle tortilla, it was to die for. In fact, I would argue it had more flavor than any tortilla I’ve ever had, even more than those I ate in Spain. It inspired me to make my own version with the mouthwatering romesco to pair.

I love meals like this. One tortilla makes enough for dinner, or a brunch, plus it tastes even better left over packed in a picnic basket, or lunch box with a green salad, and some fruit. You can load it with veggies, greens, parsnips, potatoes, and you could even add cheese. I opted for a simple version with organic potatoes, shallots, and local onions. ( I apologize, but I lost the natural light and couldn’t capture a decent photo of the tortilla.) I even served it with mixed greens, piquillo peppers stuffed with goat cheese,  it made a very satisfying meal, just don’t forget the romesco sauce. Holy crap don’t forget the romesco. I, in fact kept snacking on this sauce- just to test it. You know, this is why I should never skip the gym.

Like I said, this is the perfect sort of light meal, or pinxto for friends when enjoying wine or cocktails in the early evening! I’m serving mine with a lovely Bierzo from NW Spain. I think most foods like this pair with light bodied whites or rose’s, but its’ just so chilly out tonight, the red wine definitely warms my heart.

Tortilla

Ingredients:

  • 4 local farm eggs- this is important- don’t skimp, and please don’t buy factory produced eggs- you now why, it’s just not healthy for anyone. 
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 large peeled potato diced, and peeled
  • a few good glugs of high quality olive oil
  • a pinch of your favorite salt
  • a pinch of esplette, if you have it on hand. It’s worth seeking out if you don’t.

Steps:

  • Heat olive oil in cast iron, or heavy bottomed pan of choice
  • Add onions, and cook until soft and translucent, don’t brown them
  • add potatoes, and cook until soft, but not mushy, and don’t brown them
  • salt, and season as desired
  • scramble eggs, and add to pan with potatoes and onions
  • cook until firm, and not runny- kind of like a pancake
  • use a plate to flip, and continue cooking on the other side
  • I like my tortilla so it’s firm, not runny, but just a little gooey in the center. It’s all about personal preference.

Romesco Sauce- holy crap this makes a lot! You’ll find many uses my friends, many!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 can piquillo peppers- or roast 2 red bell peppers, remove skin and seeds
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup Extra Virgen Olive Oil
  • juice of half a lemon
  • splash of red wine, or sherry vinegar
  • 1 – 2 small pieces of grilled bread. I used 4 slices of grilled baquette
  • 2-6 dried ancho chilis
  • 1 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1/4 cup Marcona Almonds, blanched almonds are fine too
  • 1 roma tomato, seeded
  • 2 tbsp  fresh cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steps

  • Grill bread, and cool
  • Soak chili’s and roast on 375, until they start to brown, about 8-10 minutes
  • Place all ingredients in food processor, and blend until desired consistency.
  • I like it a little chunky!!!
  • Put on everything your little heart desires.

xoxo

Sarah

2 Comments to “My favorite- Romesco!”

  1. What wonderful ingredients! I get wonderful eggs from a local farm…what a wonderfully inspired recipe! Yum! Debra

  2. I love those types of tortillas! I made a romesco once but was kind of put off by the long ingredient list- I’d love to try your version, which uses things I typically have on and. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

