Enchilada Sauce

Hello everyone! Happy September. I can’t believe we are half way through it already.Wasn’t it just June? Weren’t we just eating fresh juicy strawberries?

P and I have been cooking up a storm for his family. We’ve made tomato cobbler, home made pizza, and now enchiladas! We love spicy tomato based foods and sauces. We especially love them when they are fresh and seasonal!

Enchilada sauce is quite expensive and often lacking in freshness and flavor. With Hatch Chiles, and fresh tomatoes still in season I just couldn’t resist. This is good, really good. I mean, I made so much, I’m going to freeze it for this coming winter.

This sauce can be used as a base for soups, salsas, enchiladas, or anything your heart desires.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!!!

Enchilada Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 16oz can Organic tomato sauce, or 9 fresh early girl tomatoes, peeled, seeded and pureed into sauce
  • 3 cloves garlic minced
  • 4 Hatch chile peppers, roasted (rub with oil, roast in tin foil on high heat in oven, or over gas flames until soft and charred), and seeded (unless you like it really spicy)
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp ancho chile powder
  • 1 Tbsp New Mexican chile powder
  • 1 Tbsp dried Mexican oregeno
  • 1 Tbsp crushed red peppers
  • Salt and Black pepper to taste
Steps:
  • Put all ingredients into a blender, blend until smooth!
  • Cook on stove, until hot an bubbly. Adjust your seasonings to taste.
  • This will freeze for 3-6 months if using proper storage.
  • Enjoy!
xoxo
Sarah
3 Comments to “Enchilada Sauce”

  1. Sarah, I just googled Hatch chile peppers and I don’t think I can find them in Southern California. Would you be able to suggest a suitable substitute? We are BIG with jalapenos and serranos and even poblanos…but I’m not always the best at distinguishing heat and compatability factors. Since I’m still picking tomatoes, this would be a great recipe! Debra

    • Hey Debra!
      I would try anaheim peppers, or poblano, and add heat as needed (jalapeno, or serrano).You could also sub canned green chiles too. I think most large grocery stores even carry Hatch brand! I would also be cautious, and add that tomato paste when using fresh tomatoes. It really makes a difference in sauce thickness.

      Enjoy! Tell me how everything works!

  2. “Love isn’t something you find. Love is something that finds you.” ~ Loretta Young

Leave a Reply

