Cherry Tomato Cobbler topped with Almond Drop Buscuits.

Hello my Lovelies!

The other day I popped over to one my my favorite cooking sites, and found a recipe I absolutely couldn’t stop drooling over. I mean, really drooling, could have shorted my lap top drool. Nicole at Cooking after five is a lot like me. She loves fresh ingredients, and simple meals. She adapted a Martha Stewart Living recipe for a cherry tomato cobbler. All I could think about was scooping bite after bite into my mouth the second I saw the photo. I knew I had to make it, and soon.

People ask me all the time what I like to cook during busy weeks, or when I’m tired, and this is exactly the type of meal that can be made super quickly if you have everything on hand. It’s also a recipe that can be adapted quite easily. It also got me thinking about what I could add for a Fall and Winter version. I can’t wait to play with recipe.

It’s a must try, and absolutely no fail recipe. I would suggest bringing it to your next BBQ, or picnic. I bet most of your friends and family haven’t tried a savory cobbler.

Heirloom multi colored cherry tomatoes are perfect for this recipe. I used almond meal for the buscuits to make this recipe a little more me. I took Nicole’s idea, and added fresh parmesan too. Trust me, this is super delicious, and comes together quite quickly. Add a fresh green salad on the side, and you have a complete meal in less than thirty minutes. I think this will be on my summer rotation. Next time I would love to add some cooked celeriac for a denser, heavier cobbler once the nights get cooler.

Enjoy this, and adapt as needed. I saw that whole foods had buscuit dough in the refrigerator section, and that would cut the time to prep this in half.

I made this with for a little get together with P’s family. We also made my kale and ricotta salata salad, and fresh corn on the cob spiked with cayenne butter.

Cherry Tomato Cobbler 

Adapted from Cooking After Five, and Martha Stewart Living

Ingredients:

  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes, washed and stemmed.
  • 2 large white onions, choppd in half moons
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp crushed red peppers
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • salt, pepper, and dried or fresh herbs of choice
  • 2 cups almond meal
  • 1/3 cup organic grass fed butter
  • 3 organic egg whites
  • 1/4 cup  shredded parmesan cheese

Steps:

  • Preheat oven to 350.
  • Caramelize onions in 2 Tbsp olive oil, and add crushed pepper and garlic. This should take about 15 minutes or so.
  • Place onions in a small baking dish, top with washed cherry tomatoes.
  • Place 2 cups almond meal in the bowl of a food processor ( you could place in a mixing bowl, and use a pastry cutter, or fork for the next steps). Add butter, sliced into pieces, egg whites, salt, cheese, and herbs. Pulse until combined. This mixture will be a little moist, or runny. This is fine.
  • Place on top of  cherry tomatoes in small scoops. I used a tablespoon, and got nine very small buscuits.
  • Bake on 350 for 30 minutes. Sprinkle with fresh herbs, and cheese once out of oven. I waited for ten minutes before serving.
  • Enjoy!!!!!
I got rave reviews both from P’s family, and my friend Amberleigh’s kiddos too!
xoxo
Sarah
2 Comments to “Cherry Tomato Cobbler topped with Almond Drop Buscuits.”

  1. My favorite buscuits ever. What else can we make with them?? Tellll me! Fried chicken and buscuits? Hmmm…..

  2. I’m glad it was slow today so you could post this! Really, I am!! I am so making this as we are swimming in cherry toms. Love the blog, btw!

Leave a Reply

