Quinoa stuffed poblanos, Camping Food!

Hello all!

I hope you all had the chance to look at Jennies blog. It still brings me to tears when I think of her loss. Her love for her husband seemed so beautiful, and I know it will live on. I know that my heart has changed because of her loss. I just really do want to hug, and love the ones close to me a little more. I want my friends, family, and especially P to know how special they truly are.

Before all of the above, P and I had a lovely mini vacation on Mt. Hood. We camped for a few days, and had an amazing time. The sun changed my spirit. It hasn’t hit 90 this whole summer in Portland. I’ve been wearing sweaters in the evening, and craving lazy summer days. We were able to experience every bit of laziness on a beautiful lake. It was gorgeous. We swam, we laughed, we met goofy campers, and learned a little history too. We also ate. We actually ate quite well. I didn’t get to photograph the recipe I’m posting, but I will say it was quite great! I highly suggest taking this with you next time you camp. It’s simple, delicious, and fire roasted. You can’t get better that!

I know blog posts are dumb without photos. Really dumb! We were a little tipsy, and didn’t have the brain cells to take photos!!

Quinoa Stuffed Poblanos

This is just a guideline! Add what you like, and of course, make as much as you need! Adapt, adapt, adapt!

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 Poblano peppers depending on size
  • 1/4-1/2 cup cooked quinoa depending on how many peppers you are stuffing
  • 1/4 cup cooked black beans
  • 1-2 chipotle’s in adobo sauce
  • 1 chopped heirloom tomato
  • 1/4 white onion
  • 2 gloves minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup feta
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbsp Pepitas
  • 1 small zucchini chopped
  • 1 ear corn chopped off the cob
Steps:
  • Wash, and chop off top of poblano pepper. Remove seeds, reserve top.
  • Cook quinoa, and stir in cooked black beans. Saute onions, garlic, chipotles in adobo sauce with cooked quinoa, and black beans.
  • Add chopped tomato, zucchini, and corn to quinoa mixture. Cook until done! Don’t over cook. We aren’t looking for mushy veggies.
  • Sprinkle pan with pepitas, and salt and pepper to taste.
  • Stuff raw poblano peppers until half full. Add some feta, and stuff with quinoa mixture until full. Top with stem.
  • Wrap in foil. Continue until you have stuffed 4 peppers.
  • Cook on fire for 15-20 minutes, or until blistered and oozing.
  • You may have extra mixture, it’s great in scrambled eggs, on top of greens, or as lunch when you return from camping. I bet it would be awesome on top of baked potatoes, and covered in salsa!
Here are some photos of Padron peppers cooked on top of our camp fired, drenched in avocado oil, and sprinkled with sea salt. I have to say they were the best! We also made corn on the cob, drizzled with olive oil, and esplette! We also had caesar salads. I made fresh basil pesto, and packed fresh ravioli for our second night. This worked extremely well. What types of food do you cook while camping? Do you like cooking while camping? I do! It gives me something to do other than read.
xoxo, and great big hugs!
Sarah
ps- if you are looking for great boxed wine- I highly suggest “from the tank”. It’s a great CDR, and it’s biodynamic as well.
2 Comments to “Quinoa stuffed poblanos, Camping Food!”

  1. Picture or not, these sound amazing!

  2. Wow! I can’t believe how good this looks! We were camping this past weekend, and I never once thought of something this creative and for camping food, almost decadent. You’ve raise the bar again, and I can’t wait to give it a try. Yum!

Leave a Reply

