Halloumi and Roasted Veggies with a Dilly Vinaigerette

Hello All! Halloumi cheese is one of our summer favorites. It’s a little hard to find, but worth seeking out. It reminds me of mozzarella, in a feta brine. Two of my favorite cheeses in one. Plus it doesn’t melt when fried, or grilled. I know it’s not seasonal, but it’s just so great grilled in the warm evenings of the summer. It’s chewy, and smokey when grilled with some charred marks. We had a grill issue this evening, and ended up cooking the cheese in a fry pan on the stove. It was fantastic and lightly browned ,so yes this is a timeless cheese!

I roasted zucchini, spring onions, bell peppers, and red potatoes with olive oil, garlic, salt, and parsley. Fried up the cheese in a hot dry pan, toasted some pinenuts, and made a shallot, dill vinaigerette to top it all off. It was quite delicious, and fresh all at the same time. I think it would be even more amazing, grilled, and stacked! You would definitely impress your friends with the execution of this dish at your next bbq or dinner party.

I’m thinking we will grill some panini sandwiches with the other half of our halloumi. Please try this, trust me it’s a gorgeous meal.

Halloumi and Roasted Vegetables with a Dilly Vinaigerette 

(this is just an idea, use as much as you need! I split one of each vegetable for 2 of us!)

Ingredients:

  • Halloumi cut 1/4 inch squares
  • 1 Zucchini cut into 4 large strips
  • 1 of each Red and green bell peppers sliced in strips
  • 1 Potato sliced thinly in rounds
  • 1 small Spring onion quartered
  • 2 Tbsp Olive oil, plus 2 Tbsp olive oil for dressing
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 Cloves minced garlic
  • Chopped fresh parsley, or other herb of choice
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • a hanful of toasted pinenuts
  • 1 Shallot
  • 1 handful of  colorful cherry tomatoes for garnish
Steps:
  • Place sliced potatoes on grill, or in oven, and cook until crispy, and done.
  • Grill, or roast sliced veggies until done, but crispy and fresh tasting.
  • Cook halloumi on grill until charred, or in fry pan until brown.
  • Place shallot, rice vinegar, parsley, dill, salt, olive oil, and little bit of water in a blender. Blend until smooth. This is your dressing!
  • Stack veggies, and haloumi as desired, garnish with cherry tomatoes.
  • Dress with dressing, and toasted pinenuts!
  • Enjoy, and be preparee for ooooh’s and ahhhhh’s!

xoxo

Sarah

3 Comments to “Halloumi and Roasted Veggies with a Dilly Vinaigerette”

  1. What a beautiful dish! I love Halloumi cheese and it’s unique texture makes it fun to use!
    By the way, I’m doing a giveaway on my blog right now and you should enter- as I have so few readers there is a pretty darn good chance you will win! Lol.

  2. Yum, yum, yum. I saw some great goats milk haloumi made here in Canterbury, New Zealand at the markets this morning. I could not think what to do with it, but you have inspired me now. Haloumi gets a thumbs up from me.

  3. By the way, I love your food photgraphy. What camera and lenses do you use? SLR?. Do you use any particular lighting. I want to improve my food photography.

Leave a Reply

