Cajun Green Bean “Fries” with a Cucumber and Dill Yogurt Dip

I’ve been working with food all day. Cleaning dishes, pickling snap peas (yum! perfect with egg salad), and making room for the huge box of organic veggies just delivered!

I’ve also had a craving for french fries all day. Strange huh? I have a fridge full of healthy, fresh, vegetables, and  all I want are greasy, heart clogging bites of starch? What’s wrong with me? Did I hit my head at the gym?

Two pounds of green beans came with my mystery box today. I love fresh green beans, and they are totally in season right now. I saw purple and white beans at the market last week! The colors were striking, and fresh salads danced in my mind. I never know what to do with green beans. I remember plucking the ends at my grandma’s house, and boiling them, then drenching them in butter before eating them when I was a kid.

I totally grew up in a boiled vegetable house. I can’t stand boiled veggies these days, and I don’t slather them in butter like I did as a child.

While researching green bean recipes, I couldn’t find anything truly exciting. I all of sudden had a flashback to my days in Philadelphia. I used to frequent a bar called Grace Tavern. They had blackened green beans on their menu. My philly friends would order them instead of fries. They were delicious, and spicy, and served with a spicy sauce on the side.

I decided to re-create them, and share the recipe with you. These are a perfect side dish to veggie burgers, sandwiches, and very bbq friendly. Your friends won’t even realize they are super healthy, because they are just so tasty and crisp.

One more thing: Do you have any delicious green bean recipes? Please let me know!

Cajun Green Bean Fries and a Dilly Yogurt Cucumber Dip

Ingredients for Cajun Green Beans:

  • 1/4 cup smoked paprika
  • 3 Tbsp. plus ¾ tsp. sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp. plus 1½ tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 Tbsp. plus 1½ tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 2¼ tsp. black pepper
  • 1½ tsp. dried thyme
  • 1½ tsp. dried oregano
  • 1½ tsp. dried mustard
  • ½ lb. fresh green beans
  • Coconut oil for cooking
Steps:
  • Mix all dried herbs in a bowl. (this will make enough for 4-5 1/2 pound servings).
  •  Wash and trim beans, remove ends.
  • Blanch in boiling water for 3 minutes, or until bright green.
  • Immerse in ice cold water.
  • Heat coconut oil in fry pan, and toss in green beans, stir, and add 1/4 of seasoning.
  • Stir until well coated.

Ingredients for yogurt dip:

  • 3 Tbsp plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/4 cucumber chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh dill
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. fresh squeezed lime juice
Steps:
  • Mix all ingredients together, and serve with green bean fries!
The cooling yogurt sauce is perfect with the spicy fries! Enjoy! You may want to eat these with a fork unless you like licking your fingers!
xoxo
Sarah
5 Comments to “Cajun Green Bean “Fries” with a Cucumber and Dill Yogurt Dip”

  1. I have a huge dislike of green beans (due to a nasty mean babysitter, but we won’t get into that), but I do LOVE cajun seasoning and I may have to give this a try. And seriously, what’s not to love about yogurt, dill and cucumber?? They are always in perfect harmony with each other.
    Not sure when I can get around to making this, but hopefully soon. My husband loves vegetables too, so I’m sure he’ll give this a try also.

  2. Hey Darcy!
    I know, we used to eat canned green beans! Yuck!!!!!! I know, I can eat cucumber, dill, yogurt dip with anything! How is Boston? How is the blog? Send me your link, and I will add it to my list!!! Lots of love!!!

  3. These look so good! One of my favorite ways to use green beans is to treat them like asparagus- I toss them with olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, balsamic or lemon juice, and parmesan, then roast in he oven until tender but crisp. They also make great additions to curries and soups!

  4. Good call Nikita! I shall try that! I’m making a Thai red curry soup soon, and will def. include green beans! Have you tried the purple ones yet?

  5. My aversion to green beans were also because they were canned. SO GROSS! LOL Boston is going very well, the summer has been great and I’m happy to say I have no fear of getting in the car and driving to other towns (Boston drivers are scary, so this was a big step for me) The blog is lifewithkidsandmowgli.blogspot.com
    Love the pictures you are taking, keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

