Italian Kale Salad with Ricotta Salata, and a Lemon and Shallot Vinegarette

We can’t get enough kale salads around here. They are hearty, and light at the same time. Perfect for lunch, or with dinner, and super nutritious for you. If you don’t like kale, try one of my salads, and you will definitely change your mind.

I was at Dove Vivi for take out last weekend. We love their cornmeal crust. If you live in Portland, or have the chance to visit this place it’s super delicious. You can get slices, half pies, or whole pies. What a cool concept huh? I had a glass of wine while waiting for my take-out. I was studying the menu and came across a salad I just knew I needed to try. It was settled, I was having the kale salad, with my glass of Rose while that pizza was baking.

It was earthy, salty, lemony, and perfect. I decided to adapt it here, because I love it so much. You will too. I promise!!! I mean, I loved it so much I had the leftovers for breakfast. I think I even dreamed I was eating throughout the night. It’s that delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound lacinato kale (also called Tuscan kale) or tender regular kale, stems and center ribs discarded
  • 3 Tbsp finely chopped shallot
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 1/4 teaspoon medium sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper or red chili flakes
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup grated ricotta salata
Steps:
  • Cut kale into small pieces, and remove stems, and centers of each piece. I use kitchen shears for this, it’s must faster and easier. Place in bowl.
  • Whisk together shallot, lemon juice, and slowly pour olive oil until combined.
  • Grate ricotta salata on a microplane, or box shredder depending on size preference.
  • Toss everything together until well combined. Serve, and enjoy!
xoxo
Sarah
Leave a Reply

