Oven Dried Tomato, and Goat Cheese Basil Cream Almond Tartlettes.

So it’s raining again. It’s July 19th, and I’m still white as a ghost. I’ve been day dreaming for the sun to kiss my skin-even just for the slightest of moments. I can barely sit still. I’m just finishing a long stretch off from the hospital. I spent most of it studying and prepping for upcoming wine classes. I miss long lazy summers. I miss water sprinklers, watermelon beer, barbeques, river floating, and of course my dream date- the sun.

I have great fear for friends gardens, local produce, and I have hope- I really have to have hope, that the grapes will get everything they need weather wise this year.

I’m feeling the need to escape someplace warm, sunny, and not dreary and grey. I know friends on the opposite coast who are wishing for an early Fall. It already feels like fall here. I’m wearing jeans, a tank, and a sweater today. Not your typical summer gear. My coat hasn’t been dry cleaned, because I may need it. This may sound a bit dramatic, but I’m seriously lacking in vitamin D.

We got our Organics to you crop box delivered yesterday. It was filled to the brim with veggies. 3 heads of lettuce, 8 tomatoes, 4 zucchini, 2 cucumbers, 1 pint of raspberries, 1 pound of cherries, chard, 3 spring onions, 5 purple potatoes, garlic, mushrooms, 1 pound of snap peas, and 2 bunches of carrots. We are definitely veggie lovers, but wow! We hit the jack pot.

I’ve been planning  meals for the weeks to come. I had some great tried and true meals to share with you- but in all honesty they are bit too summery. They will have to wait until the sun decides to come out and play.

With all these wonderful veggies in my fridge, I decided this was the perfect day to bake some mini tarts. I was inspired by whatkatieate, and her birthday blog. Birthday’s are always fun, and hopefully filled with love, friends, and good food. Her buttery puff pastry looked amazing, but in all honesty it’s not my birthday- so I don’t get to indulge that much. I adapted her tomato tart into something a little more me, and little more healthy. I hope you like it! I know P and I will be eating this all summer long!

Oven dried tomatoes- See recipe here

Goat Cheese and Pesto Cream

2 oz Fresh basil, washed and dried ( you could even use arugula and basil too)

3 cloves garlic

1/4 cup sliced almonds (pistachios, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts, and pine nuts work too)

2-3 Tbsp grated Pecorino cheese (parm is fine too)

4 oz goat soft goat cheese such as Chevre

Steps:

Place all ingredients into food processor, blend until smooth and creamy. Salt as needed.

Place in fridge until ready to use.

Almond Meal Tartlettes

  • 2 Cups almond meal
  • 2 Tbsp butter or grapeseed oil
  • 2 Tbsp minced fresh herbs such as basil, oregeno, thyme, or whatever you desire
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 Tbsp ice cold water

Steps

  • Mix almond meal and small pieces of butter together in food processor, or mix with hands.
  • Slowly add ice water, and herbs and salt.
  • Mix until pebble like. It will be moister than most doughs.
  • Use fingers to shape into tart pans.
  • Par bake tart shells on 350 for ten minutes. I always place mini or large tart pans on a cookie sheet for easy removal from the oven.
How to assemble:
  • Place basil cream mixture into each tart. Top with tomatoes, and bake on 350 for ten minutes.
  • Remove from tart pans to serve, and top with fresh shredded basil, and pecorino cheese!
  • Yum! For something extra indulgent, drizzle with aged balsamic vinegar!!
Serve with crisp Gruner Veltliner, stainless steel fermented Chardonnay, or nice light Pinot Noir.
xoxo
Sarah
One Comment to “Oven Dried Tomato, and Goat Cheese Basil Cream Almond Tartlettes.”

  1. Hmm your organic produce box sounds more plentiful than our CSA… maybe next year I will look into that instead. These little tarts look both beautiful and delicious! I’ve been cooking with almond meal a lot lately, but I hadn’t thought to use it in a savory tart!

Leave a Reply

