Stawberry and Basil Ice Pops!

It’s getting hot here. NOT as hot as some places, but pretty darn warm. Meals are getting lighter, and desert is pretty non existent around here.

In the next couple of days and weeks you will see me using savory herbs, and veggies with fresh fruits together in most of my recipes and meals. Summer is my favorite time to do this, and it’s just so fresh tasting!

P and I walked back from the store the other night, and realized we forgot the popcicles. Boy do I love popsicles! I just don’t love the sugar, or dyes they use in most commercially produced brands. I like knowing what goes into my food. If I can’t pronounce it, or have never heard of it- then most likely I’m not going to eat it.

I don’t know if you have ever tried a fresh Oregon strawberry, heck I don’t know if anyone is actually reading this! If you haven’t had the chance to try a Hood River Oregon strawberry please do so- and do it soon. They are going fast, and they only come around once a year. They are smaller than California strawberries, they are sweeter, and much more special than any other strawberry in the world.

I must have been dreaming about popsicles the other night, because I woke up and told P I was, and then went back to sleep. Today was day I created my own strawberry basil ice pops. Every thing is local, everything is farm fresh, and it will taste just as good straight out of my freezer. It’s like freezing the perfect Hood River Strawberry for the months to come when they won’t be around anymore.

These popcicles remind me of my mom. She loved these strawberries, so I’m going to share this recipe with you in her honor.

Strawberry Basil Ice Pops

  • 1 pound organic fresh strawberries
  • 10 organic basil leafs
  • 2 Tbsp local honey, or Agave nectar, or organic cane sugar (only if like them extra sweet)
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 2 Tbsp lemon or lime juice (I like lime!)
Steps
  • Wash strawberries, and cut off stems
  • Wash basil
  • Add all ingredients in bowl of food processor, or blender and mix until smooth. You could also create a simple syrup with the basil (muddle basil for the oils), honey, and water, and discard the basil before blending. I didn’t. I love basil!
  • Fill molds, and freeze for 3 hours (you could also strain through a fine mesh strainer if you want a smoother ice pop). If you are using traditional molds, or paper cups, you will need to freeze for 1 hour, and then add popsicle sticks.
  • Enjoy on a hot evening!
xoxo
Sarah
5 Comments to “Stawberry and Basil Ice Pops!”

  1. Yum! When I was a kid popsicles were my absolute favorite! I used to eat those ones that were encased in plastic and came in a variety of artificial colors and flavors… probably not the healthiest treat. These look really refreshing, I think I will be making these soon! Where do you get your strawberries? I bet they would taste good with mint too…

  2. Oh no! I changed my domain name and I thought it would redirect from the old one but it does not. This is my new site.

  3. Oh no! I can’t find your new site either!!!

  4. Gah! You’re right, I clicked on my own link and it took me to the “lickthebowlclean does not exist anymore.” That’s problematic. Good thing I don’t have many followers! lol.
    Try this: http//:lacantinaencantada.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

