Zucchini Tortilla Soup

Ok, well it’s not exactly soup season, but it’s been grey here so that’s my excuse. P and I frequent the farmers market often and usually end up with way too many veggies than we know what to do with. A simple answer to this is soup. We love Mexican food, but it’s not exactly healthy for you. This is something I make when we really want to lighten things up around here.

It’s a tomato and broth based soup kissed with cumin, chili powder, smoked paprika, Mexican oregeno, fresh minched garlic, chopped white onions and shallots.

I like my veggies to really crunch in soup. This way, they can soften up over a few days without turning to mush. I’ve never been one for mushy veggies. I grew up in a mushy veggie house hold, and I’m a believer in crisp, fresh tasting vegetables.

This soup also gets better with time. The flavors really meld together overnight. It’s very low calorie, and extremely filling. You could certainly add tofu, black beans, or meat to this soup to make it complete meal, or serve it as a starter or side dish. It’s really up to you. I had eggs for breakfast, and tofu with lunch so my protein bases were covered for the day.

It seems like Portland is about to get sunny, and hot, so the rest of this soup might end up in my new freezer. I like to freeze portion size amounts to pull out for quick lunches, or camping.

Zucchini Tortilla Soup

  • 4 medium zucchini
  • corn cut from two ears of cooked corn
  • 1 large white onion
  • 1 large shallot
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tsp new mexico chili powder
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 Tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp dried chili flakes (all of the spices listed are measurement guesses, I don’t measure them, I just shake and taste)
  • 2 tsp salt and pepper
  • 3 tsp dried fresh oregeno
  • 2 15 oz cans stewed tomatoes
  • 2 cups of good tasting veggie broth
  • 3 corn tortillas
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 Tbsp cotija cheese
  • squeeze of fresh lime juice
  • 3 Tbsp avocado oil, or other high smoke point oil, plus more for frying tortilla strips
steps
  • Heat oil in heavy bottomed soup pan, add chopped garlic, and chopped onion and shallots.
  • Add all dried spices  including salt and pepper to taste to onion, shallot, and garlic mixture. Stir on low heat.
  • Add tomatoes and corn, cook for half hour, then add broth, and chopped zucchini.
  • Cook until zucchini is just done, but not soft.
  • Remove from heat
  • Fry chopped corn tortilla strips in avocado oil until crispy. I barely use any oil in a non-stick pan. Salt, and squeeze some lime juice over fried strips.
  • Chop fresh avocado.
  • Crumble Cotija cheese.
  • Place soup in bowls, top with avocado slices, fried corn strips, and a 1/2 Tbsp of cotija cheese.
  • You shouldn’t have to salt the soup. The strips will have enough salt for the brothy soup.
  • Enjoy!
xoxo
Sarah
One Comment to “Zucchini Tortilla Soup”

  1. Wow, Sarah, you’ve been cooking up a storm! This soup looks great. I’m getting a bit frustrated with Portland weather at this point! I have actually been feeling like I need a jacket when I go out in the mornings. It’s nearly July!

Leave a Reply

