My own Buttermilk Cornbread with blueberries!

It’s a bit grey out there today, and drizzly too. Where are you Summer? You tease us with your eighty degree days, and pop back down to the sixties. Rather sneaky of you mother nature, oh and thanks for the sunny days to come when I’m working 12 hour shifts all weekend. Oh well. It’s a perfect day to clean out my freezer. I have a new fridge coming next week! I can’t wait. My current one stinks. It freezes stuff in the fridge, and keeps food cold in the freezer. I have to manually defrost the freezer, and most items end up getting freezer burnt, or melting, and re freezing which makes for ugly food.

I detest cleaning, but I love finding hidden gems when I do clean. It’s almost like a treasure hunt. Five bucks in a dress pocket, and fresh frozen blueberries in my freezer.

I have some zucchini tortilla soup simmering on the stove (I know, I know, I know, I said no more soup for the Summer, but come on, tortilla soup is the best! Especially with fresh zucchini from the farmers market).

I thought about making muffins, but then I decided on blueberry cornbread to go with my super spicy soup tonight!

This is another super simple recipe. It’s sweet, buttery, and delicious straight out of the oven. I can smell the butter and blueberries cooking right now. It’s tempting to just stand here and wait for it to bake, but I guess I should do something in this dreadful weather. I’m off to clean my hall closet, and then to the gym. The bread will just have to bake, and I will have to enjoy it later as a special prize for making a nice clean and organized home.

Blueberry Buttermilk Cornbread

  • 2 organic veggie fed eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk (or organic whole milk with vinegar)
  • 4 Tbsp butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 3/4  cup cornmeal
  • 2 Tbsp organic cane sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons aluminum free baking powder
  • 1/2  teaspoon medium sea salt
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries, rinsed
steps
  • Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees
  • Place all wet ingredients into bowl, and whisk together
  • Add dry ingredients, stir to combine
  • Fold in blueberries
  • Place all mixed ingredients into cast iron pan, or baking dish of choice
  • Bake for 20 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean in center of bread
  • Enjoy with butter melted on top!
  • Best the day of, but will keep well wrapped for two days. Just re-heat and serve with butter!
xoxo
Sarah
Leave a Reply

