Oven roasted tomatoes

I’ve spent the day working out, prepping for wine classes, taking sneak peeks at Pinterest, and A Cup of Jo, and many more of my coveted sites. I walked around, window shopped, made marmelade, cleaned my kitchen, and snuggled with Lu Lu. It’s been a bit muggy, but not hot. This is a good thing, especially since I really wanted to slow roast some tomatoes that still don’t have the right pop of summer flavor I love.

This is one of my favorite things to make and eat. These tomatoes are super simple, anyone can do it, and you can go about your day while they are drying in your oven.

They are quite healthy too. I don’t add oil until after they are cooked. This keeps the calories down, and the sweet flavor of the tomatoes intact.

I usually use plum tomatoes, but any will do, all shapes, sizes and colors. Cut your tomatoes in half, place on a lined baking sheet (foil or silpat works). Sprinkle with organic cane sugar, salt, pepper, and fresh thyme. Place in oven at 200 degrees for 3.5 hours. Pull out, let cool. Place in jar, cover with extra virgen olive oil, and air tight lid. These will keep for two weeks in the fridge.

I like to make these tomatoes, let them cool, marinate in 2 Tbsp balsamic for an hour, and then place on top of grilled asparagus. The tomatoes almost melt in your mouth. They are that good. I mean, like super addicting, I can’t stop thinking about them good. These are a perfect example of how to use tomatoes year a round. ( I will post in August how to preserve tomatoes for sauces, and how to preserve oven dried tomatoes too.)

xoxo

Sarah

Leave a Reply

