Homemade Focaccia bread

Hello all! I realized how much I miss this blog, when I’m not actually blogging. It seems that everything I make is missing out on being here! I’m back, and I’ve decided I’m not going away.

It’s been a busy couple of weeks, and I’m really excited for Summer. I love the idea of lavender spiked lemonade with vodka, salt water sandals (in yellow), fresh tomatoes, open windows, sleeveless dresses, and P’s dreamy vintage blue mustang!

Summer is here, and my heart is swooning.

It hasn’t quite hit “too hot to bake” weather here, so I still feel confident in sharing a bread recipe right now. I also think Summer time is great time to practice bread making. You get better results when the there is less draft, and more consistent heat in your kitchen and home.

This is a simple recipe. I mean, really simple. You can adapt in so many ways. You can top it with tomatoes, herbs, cheese, bake garlic and onions inside of it. You can make is sweet, or serve it plain. There are endless possibilities with this bread.

P and I enjoyed it with a simple strawberry salad, and some home made tomato and pepper soup.

Homemade Foccacia

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 ¼ tsp yeast
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 ¾ cup flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp herbed salt
  • olive oil for drizzling, and oiling bowl
Steps
  • dissolve yeast and honey in water.
  • add flour and 2 tsp of salt.
  • mix with rubber spatula, and bring together with hands, no need to work this dough for too long, it comes together quite easily
  • transfer into an oiled bowl, cover  with plastic wrap, and rest 1 ½ hours in a warm spot of your kitchen (I usually let it sit on the back of my oven)
  • spread onto an oiled sheet pan (or round cake pan)
  • rest for 30 minutes.
  • spread dough to ends of sheet pan (I used a round cake pan, for a thicker bread), drizzle with oil and cover loosely, rest for 1 hour.
  • preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • sprinkle with salt, herbs, or toppings of choice, and a few glugs of good quality olive oil
  • bake for 15 minutes, it  shouldn’t have much color and bottom should be lightly golden
This is one of my favorite breads. It’s probably the easiest version I have baked to date. It’s really a no fail recipe. It stays good for 3 days tightly wrapped in plastic, or foil.
xoxo
Sarah
Leave a Reply

