Kale salad, two ways.

Hello!

It’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to sit down and write. I’ve been so busy prepping for wine classes, working tastings, and enjoying the sunshine, that I’ve been neglecting this blog and that just breaks my heart!

I don’t have the lifestyle that allows me to post every Wednesday, or occasional Saturdays. My life just isn’t structured that way. I wish it were, but I have to work with what time I have.

In my last post I talked about eating lighter, and my “diet overhaul”. I’ve been sticking to it, with a couple of exceptions here and there. Plus, it’s hard for me to give up wine. Wine is very consuming, and it plays such a huge role in my life. Apparently, Kale has been playing a huge role in my diet practice lately. It’s kale salad, after kale salad around here, and I like it.

My first experience with kale wasn’t so good. I had a roommate in college, and we shared our first apartment together. We were both vegetarian, and we both had very different veggie preferences, and created many kitchen disasters together. We mainly ate burritos with black beans, and jasmine rice, our specialty. She asked me one day if I had ever tried kale. My answer was: no, isn’t that the stuff that they fill the salad bar with for decoration?  She bought some, and we both tasted it, and threw it in the trash immediately. It wasn’t until years later I had a kale pesto, sauteed kale, and kale tostada’s and finally determined I was an addict.

Kale is great for salads because it’s tougher than most greens. It doesn’t turn brown if you dress it and throw it in the fridge overnight. I don’t like to fuss with multiple containers when I bring my lunch to work, these salads are perfect for that purpose.

I’ve decided to post two salads today because I don’t want this blog to be the “kale salad blog”, but I wanted to share with you what I’ve been eating and enjoying on a daily basis during this diet overhaul.

I hope you enjoy them as much as I have been!

Tuscan Kale Salad with Pecorino, chile’s and lemon dressing

Slightly adapted from 101cookbooks, and Melissa Clark’s In the kitchen with a good appetite

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch Tuscan kale (for ex: black or lacinato, all I had was green leaf kale and it was delicious this way too)
  • 2 thin slices country bread, or two handfuls good, homemade coarse breadcrumbs
  • 2  cloves garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt, plus a pinch
  • 1/4 cup (or small handful) grated pecorino cheese, plus adiitional for garnish
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus additional for garnish
  • Freshly squeezed juice of one lemon (scant 1/4 cup or)
  • 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes (or cayenne pepper)
  • 1/2 cup cooked, and cooled chickpeas (rinsed canned are fine too)
Steps:
  • Chop kale into bite size pieces, and I’ve found the smaller the better. I make this salad so often, I just take my kitchen shears and chop away.
  • Chop bread into small pieces, coat with a bit of olive oil, salt, and cayenne. Place into oven at 350, and bake until crispy.
  • Add garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and pepper flakes to bowl of food processor. Pulse until smooth.
  • Place chopped kale into bowl, top with chickpeas, bread crumbs, grated pecorino, and dressing.
  • Salt, and pepper to taste. Add red pepper flakes, and dust with pecorino.
  • Enjoy!
Raw kale salad with tahini dressing
Ingredients:
  • Kale (red, or green leaf)
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt, pepper, and cayenne
Steps:
  • Chop kale into very small pieces, place into bowl with lid.
  • Place tahini, warm water, garlic, lemon juice and olive oil into bowl or food processor, or blender. Pulse until desired consistency. This should be runny like dressing, not like peanut butter.
  • Top kale with desired amount of dressing, you should have plenty for salads later in the week.
  • Place lid on bowl and shake until entire salad is covered.
  • Place in smaller bowls, and serve with salt and pepper.
  • Enjoy!
The best part about both of these salads is that they are very adaptable depending on taste, and what you have on hand.
xoxo
Sarah
Leave a Reply

