The feeling of home and a Farm Sandwich

Although I am a native Oregonian, there are so many things I detest about living here. The rain for one. It rains a lot. I’ve lost a lot of shoes along the way.

There are also a lot of things I’ve come to love. The parks, the coffee shops, the local restaurants, businesses,  P, and the people who really love being here and living here.

I’ve struggled a bit over the last few years. Leaving Philadelphia was incredibly hard for me. Losing track of  relationships, the city I had come to love, and a job that really shaped and changed my life. I feel like I learned who I wanted to be, and just needed a route to get here.

I made the decision to move back to Oregon to help a friend in need, but to also follow a dream I didn’t know I had before moving to the East Coast. I feel so lucky to have found this dream, and discovered other passions too because of this particular dream.

I’ve also struggled, and have let petty, or ugly things get in the way of achieving my dreams. I’m sitting at Crema right now typing, and prepping for a class I’m teaching tonight. I’m trying so hard not to be nervous, but that’s just who I am. I know that things can’t be perfect, but I want them to be good, and maybe even great. All I know is that I want life to be beautiful.

Tonight is the first wine class that I have taught in over two years. I have every right to be nervous, but I am confident in my knowledge, skills, and understand that teaching is also about learning. In fact, I’m learning everyday that life is about learning.

I’m very pleased to announce that I aced my first final in my wine program at Oregon State University. It makes me feel one step closer to becoming a wine maker. I feel so connected to the earth, my heart, and everything I want this dream to be today.

I hope I can teach you, my students, P, and myself that this dream is really worth achieving. I feel it today. I feel home today. It feels nice to finally have some balance after being off kilter for sooooooo long.

It’s funny how things click like they do. Food just happened to become important because wine is so important to me. I hope you keep reading my blog, and I hope it get’s better with each posting. I’m only writing this post because it wasn’t until today that I’ve really felt “at home” with any of these decisions I’ve made. In fact every time I post here I feel like people won’t read it, or think it’s not worth reading. I’m no longer in that place. I’ve come home today, and I feel it.

I encourage everyone to really live their dreams, because that’s what makes us who we are! I also encourage you to really smell and examine food, flowers, your glass of wine, your lunch, whatever you like. It might create a memory, it might give you your sense of home.

Quick Farm Sandwich 

inspired by Food 52

  • Crunchy Baguette
  • Dijon Mustard
  • Greens
  • Raw Extra Sharp Cheddar
  • 1/2 Granny Smith Apple
  • Quick Pickled Tomatoes
Steps
  • Cut baguette to desired sandwich size
  • Spread with dijon mustard
  • Place greens on both sides
  • Slice about 4 oz cheddar
  • Slice apple in thin rounds
  •  Top with Pickled tomatoes, place sliced tomatoes in salted apple cider vinegar, with dill, crunchy sea salt, garlic paste, and crushed red peppers. Soak for 3 hours, and voila!!! 
  • Devour!

This is a photo of my “Scent Tray” for tonight’s wine class. It also inspired to me to take a break and write this post!

xoxo

Sarah

2 Comments to “The feeling of home and a Farm Sandwich”

  1. Congrats on acing your exam! I think its so awesome that you are learning to make wine! Its really difficult to follow your passions sometimes… I’m getting my nursing degree right now partially because I want to help others and am interested in health, but mostly because I’m tired of being in school and want to at least have a steady job while I figure out what exactly I want to do with myself.
    I think your blog is coming along beautifully and have been enjoying reading it! I have been feeling frustrated with mine lately, but I’m hoping it will evolve into what I want with time…
    By the way, do you like Ani Phyo? She is going to be at Powell’s tonight from 7:30- 8:30.

  2. Hey! Thanks for the encouragment! I will I could go to Powell’s tonight, but I’m at work until 7:30, and most likely won’t be downtown until 815 or so. Have fun!
    I love your blog. You have great ideas, and I like your test cookies!

Leave a Reply

