A Mediteranean salad, and Socca topped with avocado, chili oil, and herbs

Today was a good day! I got up and ate some Raw Cacao chia seed pudding with blueberries for breakfast! Ran to Crema to grab a cup of coffee, and then to Vino for a meeting with my boss. We talked wine classes. I have three in the next three weeks. We discussed the wines we would be tasting in each class, and planned three more for next month. I love it! It gives me so much focus, and brings me back to why I love wine.

You see, I’m studying to become a wine maker and, in the meantime, I work for a small wine shop and teach wine classes. I also get amazing opportunities to meet wine makers from around the world.

P and I had plans to take a long walk before dinner. We were going to head to the waterfront, and then in came an e-mail. VIETTI tasting tonight – don’t forget. I had forgotten, and then I was excited. Lucca and Elena Currado were pouring their wines, in our little shop! All the way from Italy. I had met Lucca two years ago, and tasted his Nebbiolo, Barolo, and Barbaresco, and luckily enough, had the chance to do the same tonight. Italian wines make me swoon, and I know every other taster had the same swoony looks on their faces as they were leaving the tasting.

After the big Italians we tasted tonight, I was ready for something light and fresh for dinner. We had talked so much about our travel experiences through Europe years ago, and I was inspired.

The fridge was stocked with fresh greens, and herbs from the Farmer’s Market, and the cupboards full of flours and grains.

I remembered eating Socca in Nice on the street, thinking it was some sort of savory crepe with herbs and oil. I had to make it, with our Mediterranean Salads and a French Rose. It brought me back to simpler times.

Mediterranean Salad with Tahini dressing and Chili Oil

  • 1/2 cup cooked wheatberries
  • 2 cups mixed greens of choice
  • 1 cup chickpeas
  • 1 cucumber, preferably Persian
  • chives as desired
  • parsley as desired
steps 
  • Cook wheatberries (I soaked them overnight, and then cooked on low heat in 2 cups water for 1 hr)
  • Place washed greens in bowls
  • Divide and place chickpeas on one side of each salad
  • Divide and place wheatberries on one side of each salad
  • Slice cucumbers in quarters, and place on same side of each salad as wheatberries
  • Top entire salad with chopped chives and parsley
  • Sprinkle with flaky salt
  • Dress with Tahini dressing and chili oil
Tahini Dressing
  • 1/4 cup Tahini paste
  • 1/3 cup luke warm water
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • salt
  • cayenne
  • pepper
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
steps
  • Mix all ingredients in a processor
Chili Oil
  • Sambal Chili paste
  • Olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
steps
  • Whisk all ingredients together!
Socca
  • 1 cup chickpea flour (if making, take 2 cups dried chickpeas and grind in a processor, and then sift through a strainer)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/4 cups luke warm water
  • 2 tbs olive oil
steps
  • Mix all ingredients in bowl, and whisk until smooth
  • Let sit for 45 minutes
  • Place  cast iron with 2 Tbsp butter or oven safe skillet in 350 F oven for five mins
  • Remove skillet from oven and pour batter in hot skillet ( be careful, my mitt slipped, and I have a blister)
  • Bake 15 minutes or until golden brown
  • Top with olive oil, chili oil, and any other toppings you would like. We had avocado with chives and parsley!
We enjoyed an iced cold Rose with our meal, 2010 Rouge Bleu Dentelle. I would imagine a Samur or Cote Du Rhone  would be lovely too!
xoxo
Sarah

2 Comments to “A Mediteranean salad, and Socca topped with avocado, chili oil, and herbs”

  1. Yummy! Thats awesome that you are studying to be a wine maker! What are some of your favorite Northwest wines?

    • I really like Tony Soter, Ayres, Haden FIg, Evesham Wood, JK Carrier, Penner Ash, Domaine Drouhin, Daedales Cellar, Boedecker Cellars, GC, and a ton more. I work at a wine shop on the East side called Vino. Check it out sometime.

Leave a Reply

